Gleiss Lutz advises on General Meeting of Volkswagen AG

​A team of Gleiss Lutz lawyers advised the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG on this year's Annual General Meeting on 22 July 2021. The General Meeting took place online for the second time due to the Corona pandemic.

Among other things, Volkswagen's shareholders approved the settlement agreements with the former Chairman of Volkswagen AG's Board of Management Prof. Martin Winterkorn, the former member of Volkswagen AG's Board of Management and Chairman of the Board of Management of AUDI AG Rupert Stadler and the D&O insurers by a large majority. The Supervisory Board and Board of Management had submitted a corresponding proposal to the General Meeting based on an extensive legal review by Gleiss Lutz. Please see Volkswagen AG's press release of 22 July 2021 for further details (available at: Volkswagen shareholders formally approve actions of Board of Management and Supervisory Board and adopt resolution on dividend for 2020 | Volkswagen Newsroom (

Gleiss Lutz regularly advises the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG. In addition to assisting with the General Meeting, the firm was already instructed by the automotive group's Supervisory Board in connection with the extensive investigation into the diesel issue and the negotiation of the aforementioned settlement agreements as well as, for example, the formation of a broad alliance with Ford Motor Company and TRATON SE's IPO.

The following Gleiss Lutz team advised the Supervisory Board of Volkswagen AG in connection with the General Meeting: Prof. Michael Arnold (lead), Dr. Vera Rothenburg, Martin Hitzer, Steffen Carl, Dr. Adrian Bingel, Dr. Dirk Wasmann, Dr. Tobias Harzenetter, Dr. Hansjörg Scheel, Prof. Christian Arnold, Dr. Gabriele Roßkopf (all partners), Dr. Matthias Gärtner, Dr. Thomas Kreuz (both counsel), Christian Ditté, Dr. Joscha Meyer, Nils Maiwurm, Lukas Neuhaus, Dr. Simon Frye, Martin Weil, Dr. Stephan Dangelmayer, Dr. Christopher Splinter, Dr. Nikolai Unmuth, Dr. Jan-David Geiger, Dr. Johannes Culmann (counsel), Marie-Theres Lochner, Moritz Stilz, Katharina Bein, Richard Notz, Daniel Bernhardt, Frank Buchhöcker, Dr. David Quinke (partner), Nadja Al-Wraikat, Laura de Leeuw.